Conferences for Practitioners

The Center for Research in Financial Communication team regularly participates in relevant practice-oriented events of the financial community. At panel discussions, workshops as well in personal meetings, current topics and research results are presented and discussed. 

The team of the Center for Research in Financial Communication will participate at the following conferences:

DIRK workshop "Digital IR trends" on 24 January 2019

DIRK general meeting on 08 March 2019

DIRK conference 2019 on 03/04 June 2019

Geschäftsberichte-Symposium 2019 on 13 June 2019

2019 // Digital IR trends 2019

2018 // On sender and receiver: how targeted is the annual report of companies?

At the 21st DIRK conference on 05 June 2018, the Center for Research in Financial Communication provided initial insights into the results of the cooperation study with MPM Corporate Communication Solutions on cross-media annual reports.

Together with Philipp Mann, Managing Partner of MPM, empirical findings on the needs of investors and analysts regarding the annual report were presented.

In-depth results will also be presented at the MPM Corporate Reporting Conference on June 21, 2018 in Frankfurt am Main.

Further information on DIRK conference are available here.

2018 // How digital is Investor Relations in Germany?

At the 21st DIRK conference on 05 June 2018, the Center for Research in Financial Communication presented insights on its research project "Digital Leadership in Investor Relations - How digital is Investor Relations in Germany?" for the first time.

The study in cooperation with DIRK, Deutsche Post DHL Group, Deutsche Telekom, innogy and SAP shows how investor relations departments are shaping the digital transformation. Among other things, the requirements, challenges and success factors of digital investor relations were analyzed. In addition, it was ascertained which digital instruments are used in which intensity. From this, the state of the art of the digital IR landscape in Germany could be derived and four different types could be identified in dealing with digitalization in the IR area.

Key insights are available here.

The full study is available here (only in german).

Further information on DIRK conference are available here.

2018 // Strategies in Investor Relations and Financial Communication

As part of the DIRK general meeting on 23 February 2018 in Düsseldorf, Prof. Christian HOffmann presented the results of the CRiFC study "Strategies in Investor Relations and Financial Communications" - a broad empirical study among companies listed in the Prime Standard.

Decision-makers in Investor Relations and Corporate Communications were asked about strategic communication management. The results point to the strategic importance of financial communication - even if there are still gaps in strategic management of the function. Furthermore, three types of investor relations and financial communication strategies at German stock corporations were identified in the available data.

The full study is available here.

More information on the event is available here.

.

2018 // Digital transformation of investor relations

As part of the DIRK workshop "Digital IR trends 2018" on 25 January 2018, Sandra Tietz gave a first insights into the research project "Digital Leadership in Investor Relations". The results of the first phase of the phase were enthusiatically discussed with representatives of investor relations departments.

More information is available here

2017 // The future of money

On 30 June 2017, Prof. Christian Hoffmann and other experts will discuss the future of money at the international conference. Among other things, topics such as alternatives like “bitcoin” and “blockchain” by which startups and technology companies are revolutionizing the money and banking world.

More information is available at www.geldkonferenz.de

2017 // CFO positionining in Financial Communication

Based on a recent study by the University of Leipzig, an empirically grounded task framework describing the role of the CFO in financial communication was introduced and reviewed by a communication practitioner the workshop at the 20. DIRK conference on 13 June 2017 in Frankfurt. Furthermore, the implications for investor relations were discussed with the participants of the workshop.

Participants of the workshop:

  • Dr. Markus Talanow, Spokesperson Financial Communications at Merck KGaA
  • Sebastian Keßler, Group Communication and Policies at BMW AG and Graduate of the Master program „Communication Management“ at the University of Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr. Christian P. Hoffmann, University of Leipzig & Center for Research in Financial Communication

The presentation of the workshop is available here.

 

2016 // Integrated Reporting – for whom?

Integrated Reporting is currently generating curiosity and uncertainty at the same time. Is it a reporting approach or rather a management concept? How important is this for investors? The presentation by Prof. Dr. Christian Hoffmann provided insights in current findings on the advantages and challenges of Integrated Reporting.

Please find the complete presentation here.

Based on the presentation there was a follow-up discussion on “Integrated Thinking in Investment”. Various perspectives on the integration of ESG data into investment decisions as well as international differences in sustainable investments were presented.

Participants were:

  • Marissa Blankenship, Allianz GI
  • Steve Monnier, BlackRock
  • Prof. Dr. Christian P. Hoffmann, University of Leipzig
  • Moderation: Katharina Beyersdorfer, DIRK

2015 // Shareholder platform instead of AGM internet dialogue? Advantages and disadvantages

18. DIRK conference, Frankfurt

 The use of AGM internet services is stagnating. Central shareholder platforms are designed to increase attractiveness for investors. However, what advantages do they offer for the issuer?

The workshop at the DIRK conference included three brief presentations followed by a joint discussion:

 

  • Presentation of study among DACH companies with regard to the advantages and disadvantages of own AGM internet dialogue systems vs. shareholder platforms
  • Experiences by an Swiss issuer on shareholder platforms
  • Internet dialogue/platform solutions and their capabilities

Participants:

 

  • Prof. Dr. Christian P. Hoffmann, Center for Research in Financial Communication
  • Roman Bühler, Sherpany AG
  • Marcus Händel, Valiant Bank AG

The video of the workshop is available here.

Konferenzen für Praktiker

Das Team des Center for Research in Financial Communication ist regelmäßig Teil der relevanten Praxis-Veranstaltungen der Financial Community. Bei Podiumsdiskussionen oder Workshops wie auch im persönlichen Gespräch werden die aktuellen Themen der Branche und Forschungsergebnisse präsentiert und diskutiert.

Das Team des Center for Research in Financial Communication plant die Teilnahme an den kommenden Veranstaltungen:

Geschäftsberichte-Symposium München am 24. Oktober 2018

IRNext am 25. Oktober 2018

DIRK-Workshop "Digitale IR-Trends" am 24. Januar 2019

DIRK-Konferenz 2019 am 03./04. Juni 2019

Geschäftsberichte-Symposium 2019 am 13. Juni 2019

2018 // Dreiecksbeziehung Aufsichtsrat - Vorstand - Kommunikationsabteilung

Beim DPRG Arbeitskreis Finanzkommunikation am 05. Juli 2018 in Leverkusen gab Sandra Tietz einen Einblick in die aktuelle Forschung zur Dreiecks-Beziehung Aufsichtsrat, Vorstand und Kommunikationsabteilung

Grundsätzlich ist die Kommunikationsabteilung an den Vorstand gebunden, doch auch der Aufsichtsrat hat ein Informationsbedürfnis, wenn es um die Wahrnehmung und Reputation des Unternehmens geht. In einigen Fällen braucht der Aufsichtsrat sogar eine Empfehlung, inwiefern er auf Anfragen von Stakeholdern reagieren oder sich öffentlich äußern sollte. Gleichzeitig ist aber der Vorstand der Repräsentant des Unternehmens. Diese Dreiecks-Beziehung birgt Konfliktpotential. Welche Rolle kann und soll die Kommunikationsabteilung dabei spielen? Wie sieht die Realität in den Unternehmen aus: Vertrauensvolles Miteinander oder ein Sitzen zwischen den Stühlen?

Diese Fragen wurden gemeinsam diskutiert und Erfahrungen aus dem Alltag ausgetauscht.

2018 // Von Sender und Empfänger: Wie zielgruppengerecht publizieren Unternehmen?

Auf der 21. DIRK-Konferenz am 05. Juni 2018 gab das Center for Research in Financial Communication erste Einblicke in die Ergebnisse aus der gemeinsamen Studie mit MPM Corporate Communication Solutions zu crossmedialen Geschäftsberichten.

An der Seite von Philipp Mann, geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von MPM, wurden die empirischen Erkenntnisse zu den Nutzungsbedürfnissen von Investoren und Analysten in Bezug auf den Geschäftsbericht vorgestellt.

Vertiefende Ergebnisse werden hierzu auch auf der MPM Corporate Reporting Conference am 21. Juni 2018 in Frankfurt am Main präsentiert.

Weitere Informationen zur DIRK-Konferenz sind hier verfügbar.

2018 // Wie digital ist die Investor Relations in Deutschland?

Auf der 21. DIRK-Konferenz am 05. Juni 2018 präsentierte das Center for Research in Financial Communication erstmalig die Ergebnisse seines Forschungsprojekts "Digital Leadership in Investor Relations - Wie digital ist die Investor Relations in Deutschland?".

Die Studie in Kooperation mit dem DIRK, Deutsche Post DHL Group, Deutsche Telekom, innogy und SAP zeigt, wie – und auch wie unterschiedlich – Investor Relations-Abteilungen den digitalen Wandel gestalten. Analysiert wurden unter anderem Voraussetzungen, Herausforderungen und Erfolgsfaktoren der digitalen Investor Relations. Zudem wurde erhoben, welche digitalen Instrumente in welcher Intensität Anwendung finden. Daraus konnten der State of the Art der digitalen IR-Landschaft in Deutschland abgeleitet sowie vier unterschiedliche Typen im Umgang mit der Digitalisierung im IR-Bereich identifiziert werden.

Key-Insights finden Sie hier.

Die vollständige Studie erhalten Sie hier.

Weitere Informationen zur DIRK-Konferenz sind hier verfügbar.

2018 // Strategien in der Investor Relations und Finanzkommunikation

Im Rahmen des DIRK Mitgliederversammlung am 23.02.2018 in Düsseldorf präsentierte Prof. Christian Hoffmann die Ergebnisse der CRiFC-Studie "Strategien der Investor Relations und Finanzkommunikation" - einer breit angelegten empirischen Untersuchung unter im Prime Standard notierten Aktiengesellschaften.

Befragt wurden Verantwortliche aus der Investor Relations und Corporate Communications zum strategischen Kommunikationsmanagement. Die Ergebnisse weisen auf die strategische Bedeutsamkeit der Finanzkommunikation hinauch wenn noch Lücken in der strategischen Steuerung zu finden sind. Auf Basis der vorliegenden Daten konnten darüber hinaus drei Strategietypen der Investor Relations und Finanzkommunikation bei deutschen Aktiengesellschaften identifiziert werden.

Die vollständige Studie ist hier verfügbar

Weitere Informationen zur Veranstaltung finden Sie hier

2018 // Digitale Transformation der Investor Relations

Im Rahmen des DIRK-Workshop "Digitale IR-Trends 2018" am 25.01.2018 gab Sandra Tietz einen ersten Einblick in das Forschungsprojekt "Digital Leadership in Investor Relations". Mit Verantwortlichen für Investor Relations wurden die Ergebnisse der ersten Projektphase angeregt diskutiert.

Weitere Informationen zur Veranstaltung finden Sie hier

2017 // Die Zukunft des Geldes

Am 30. Juni 2017 wird Prof. Christian Hoffmann mit weiteren Experten im Rahmen der internationalen Konferenz über die Zukunft des Geldes diskutieren. Themen sind unter anderem die Alternativen wie „Bitcoin“ und „Blockchain“ mit denen Startups und Technologiekonzerne die Geld- und Bankenwelt revolutionieren.

Weitere Informationen zur Konferenz finden Sie unter www.geldkonferenz.de

2017 // CFO-Positionierung in der Finanzkommunikation

Basierend auf einer aktuellen Studie an der Universität Leipzig wurde beim Workshop auf der 20. DIRK-Konferenz am 13. Juni 2017 in Frankfurt ein empirisch fundiertes Aufgabenprofil des CFO in der Finanzkommunikation vorgestellt, durch einen Vertreter der Kommunikationspraxis eingeordnet sowie die Implikationen für die IR mit den Teilnehmenden diskutiert.

Teilnehmer des Workshops waren

  • Dr. Markus Talanow, Sprecher Finanzkommunikation der Merck KGaA
  • Sebastian Keßler, Bereich Konzernkommunikation und Politik der BMW AG und Absolvent des Masterstudiengangs „Communication Management“ an der Universität Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr. Christian P. Hoffmann, Universität Leipzig & Center for Research in Financial Communication

Die Präsentation zum Workshop finden Sie hier.

2016 // Integrated Reporting - für wen eigentlich?

Integrated Reporting weckt derzeit Neugierde und Unsicherheit zugleich. Handelt es sich um einen Reporting Ansatz oder eher um ein Management-Konzept? Legen Investoren überhaupt Wert darauf? Der Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Christian Hoffmann gab Einblicke in aktuelle Erkenntnisse zu Vorteilen und Herausforderungen des Integrated Reporting.

Den vollständigen Vortrag finden Sie hier.

Auf Basis des Vortrags wurden anschließend das Thema "Integrated Thinking in Investment" erörtert. Hierbei wurden verschiedene Perspektiven zur Integration von ESG-Daten in Investmententscheidungen sowie internationale Unterschiede in Bezug auf nachhaltige Investments diskutiert.

Teilnehmer  waren:

  • Marissa Blankenship, Allianz GI
  • Steve Monnier, BlackRock
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Hoffmann, Universität Leipzig
  • Moderation: Katharina Beyersdorfer, DIRK

 

 

2015 // Aktionärsplattform statt HV-Internetdialog? Vor- und Nachteile

18. DIRK-Konferenz, Frankfurt

Die Nutzung unternehmenseigener HV-Internet-Services stagniert. Zentrale Aktionärsplattformen sollen die Attraktivität für Anleger steigern. Doch welche Vorteile bieten sie den Emittenten?

Der Workshop auf der DIRK-Konferenz umfasste drei Kurzvorträge mit anschließender Diskussion:

  • Vorstellung einer Studie unter Emittenten (DACH) zu Vor- und Nachteilen des unternehmenseigenen HV-Internetdialogs vs. Aktionärsplattformen
  • Erfahrungen eines Schweizer Emittenten mit der Aktionärsplattform
  • Internetdialog/Plattformlösungen und ihre Fähigkeiten

Teilnehmer:

  • Prof. Dr. Christian Pieter Hoffmann, Center for Research in Financial Communication
  • Roman Bühler, Sherpany AG
  • Marcus Händel, Valiant Bank AG

Einen Mitschnitt der vollständigen Veranstaltung können Sie sich hier anschauen.