Academic Conferences

The Center for Research in Financial Communication team regularly presents its research results at academic conferences and thereby contributes to the ongoing creation and exchange knowledge.

The team of the Center for Research in Financial Communication will participate at the following conferences:

64. Annual meeting of DGPuK, Münster, 09.-11. May 2019

ICA 2019, Washington, D.C., 24.-28. May 2019

2018 // Establishing a dialogue between the supervisory board and investors

ECREA Conference, October 31 to November 03, 2018 in Lugano

Public relations research is paying ever more attention to the communicator role of the CEO. Little attention, however, has been paid to the chairman of the board of directors – despite the critical role the chairman tends to play in issues of corporate governance and shareholder relations.

At the European Communication Research and Education Association (ECREA) Conference, October 31 to November 03, 2018 in Lugano, the CRiFC team presented the results of a recent study on the dialogue of the Chairman of the Supervisory Board with investors. 51 investor relations officers from Prime Standard companies in Germany were surveyed. The full study will be published shortly.

2018 // Research on Reporting, Communication and Perception at the Capital Market

Joint doctoral colloquium from CRiFC and HHL under the topic "Research on Reporting, Communication and Perception at the Capital Market

On August 16-17, 2018, a joint doctoral colloquium with the Center for Research in Financial Communication and the Chair of Accounting, Auditing and Controlling at HHL was held as part of the fourth RIC conference. Under the title "Research on Reporting, Communication and Perception at the Capital Market", doctoral students from the Accounting and Finance from Central Germany as well as Professor Dr. Christian Pieter Hoffmann and Sandra Tietz discussed current research projects.

Professor Dr. Henning Zülch, holder of the chair of Accounting and Auditing at HHL highlighted the uniqueness and potential of the format: "Integrated Capital Market Communication is still Terra Incognita to many in the German Research Environment. As such, we are proud that we, as HHL, have occupied this topic so firmly and from an early stage. We are happy to contribute to the exchange within the community together with the University of Leipzig.”

Professor Dr. Christian Pieter Hoffman from the Institute of Communication and Media Studies of the University of Leipzig, added: “We discovered many links to our work in communication science. For the future, we see great potential to intensify our cooperation in teaching and research.”

After the first day, the participants came together for a spontaneous rooftop-party and networking, enjoying the view at Leipzig’s famous Thomaskirche before continuing their discussions in further panel-sessions on the second day.

Gruppenfoto (c) HHL – Iona Dutz

2018 // Strategic Investor Relations Management

ICA Conference, 24.-28. May 2018 in Prague

While a growing number of studies discuss the strategic importance of the investor relations (IR) function for listed corporation, few have tried to apply findings from strategic communication research to IR. Thereby, little is known about the planning and evaluation of IR programs, there is even less data available about the involvement of IR in top management decision-making.

In this paper, the CRiFC team presented research on planning and evaluation practices of investor relations departments in German Prime Standard corporations. We also analyzed how the investor relations function is strategically embedded within the organization. The analysis is based on a survey of 51 heads of investor relations departments from the largest corporations listed at the Frankfurt stock exchange. We apply insights from strategic communication research to address the apparent research gap in terms of the strategic management of the investor relations function.

2017 // Investor Relations - A Systematic Literature Review

ICA Konference, 25.-29. May 2017 in San Diego, USA

While the term “investor relations” was first coined in the 1950s, the correspondent corporate department can still be considered an emergent phenomenon. Investor relations (IR) has been a distinct corporate function for some 50 years in the US and about 30 years in Europe. Accordingly, research on IR is still in its early stages.

In this contribution, the findings from an interdisciplinary systematic literature review focusing on peer-reviewed journal articles published in English since 1990 were presented at the 67th annual conference of International Communication Association (ICA).

2016 // Trends in financial communications & reporting

At the international conference "Reporting, Investor Relations, Capital Markets - Challenges and Opportunities in Financial Communication" hosted by HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management, Prof. Dr. Christian Hoffmann and Dr. Kristin Köhler hold keynote speeches about the trends in financial communication and reporting.

Further information about the event can be found here.

Wissenschaftliche Konferenzen

Das Forschungsteam des Center for Research in Financial Communication präsentiert regelmäßig seine Forschungsergebnisse im Rahmen von wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen und trägt somit zum Wissensaustausch und -aufbau bei.

Das Team des Center for Research in Financial Communication plant die Teilnahme an den kommenden Konferenzen:

ICA 2019, Washington, D.C., 24.-28.05.2019

2018 // Establishing a dialogue between the supervisory board and investors

ECREA Konferenz vom 31. Oktober bis 03. November in Lugano

Die Public Relations-Forschung schenkt der Kommunikatorenrolle des CEO immer mehr Aufmerksamkeit. Dem Vorsitzenden des Aufsichtsrats wurde jedoch bislang nur wenig Beachtung geschenkt - trotz der entscheidenden Rolle, die der Vorsitzende in Fragen der Corporate Governance und der Beziehungen zu den Aktionären spielt.

Auf der Konferenz der European Communication Research and Education Association (ECREA) vom 31. Oktober bis 03. November 2018 stellt das CRiFC-Team eine aktuelle Studie zum Dialog des Aufsichtsratsvorsitzenden mit Investoren vor. Dabei wurden 51 Investor Relations-Verantwortliche von Prime Standard-Unternehmen in Deutschland befragt. Die vollständige Studie erscheint in Kürze.

2018 // Research on Reporting, Communication and Perception at the Capital Market

Gemeinsames Doktorandenkolloquium vom CRiFC und der HHL unter dem Thema "Research on Reporting, Communication and Perception at the Capital Market"

Am 16./17. August 2018 fand im Rahmen der vierten RIC-Konferenz des Lehrstuhls für Rechnungswesen, Wirtschaftsprüfung und Controlling der HHL ein gemeinsames Doktorandenkolloquium mit dem Center for Research in Financial Communication statt. Unter dem Titel "Research on Reporting, Communication and Perception at the Capital Market" diskutierten Doktoranden aus den Bereichen Accounting und Finance in Mitteldeutschland sowie Professor Dr. Christian Pieter Hoffmann und Sandra Tietz aktuelle Forschungsvorhaben.

Professor Dr. Henning Zülch, Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Rechnungswesens, betonte Einzigartigkeit und Potential des Formats: „Integrierte Kapitalmarktkommunikation ist für Viele in der deutschen Forschungslandschaft noch Neuland. Insofern sind wir stolz, als HHL das Thema so früh und entscheidend zu besetzen und freuen uns, gemeinsam mit der Universität Leipzig zum Austausch in der Community beizutragen.“

Professor Dr. Christian Pieter Hoffmann vom Institut für Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaften der Universität Leipzig schloss sich an: „Wir haben viele Anknüpfungspunkte zu unserer Arbeit in den Kommunikationswissenschaften entdeckt. Für die Zukunft sehen wir großes Potential, im Bereich Finanzkommunikation intensiver zusammen zu lehren und zu forschen.“

Nach dem ersten Tag fanden die Teilnehmer sich unter anderem zu einer spontanen Rooftop-Party mit Blick auf die berühmte Leipziger Thomaskirche bei intensivem Networking zusammen, ehe sie am zweiten Tag ihre Diskussionen in weiteren Panel-Sessions fortsetzten.

Gruppenfoto (c) HHL – Iona Dutz

2018 // Strategic Investor Relations Management

ICA Konferenz, 24. bis 28. Mai 2018 in Prag

Während eine wachsende Anzahl von Studien die strategische Bedeutung der Investor-Relations (IR)-Funktion für börsennotierte Unternehmen diskutiert, werden nur selten Erkenntnisse aus der strategischen Kommunikationsforschung auf IR angewendet. Bislang ist wenig bekannt über die Planung und Evaluation von IR-Programmen, noch weniger weiß man über die Beteiligung von IR an Top-Management-Entscheidungen.

In diesem Beitrag wurden die Planungs- und Evaluationspraktiken von Investor Relations-Abteilungen in deutschen Prime Standard-Unternehmen vorgestellt. Weiterhin wird gezeigt, wie die Investor Relations-Funktion strategisch in der Organisation verankert ist. Die Analyse basiert auf einer Befragung von 51 Leitern der Investor Relations-Abteilungen der größten börsennotierten Unternehmen der Frankfurter Wertpapierbörse. Dabei werden die Erkenntnisse aus der strategischen Kommunikationsforschung angewendet, um die Forschungslücke im Hinblick auf das strategische Management der Investor Relations-Funktion zu schließen.

 

2017 // Investor Relations - A Systematic Literature Review

ICA Konferenz, 25. bis 29. Mai 2017 in San Diego, USA

Obwohl der Begriff "Investor Relations" bereits in den 1950er Jahren erstmals geprägt wurde, kann die entsprechende Abteilung in Unternehmen noch immer als ein neues Phänomen angesehen werden. Investor Relations (IR) ist seit rund 50 Jahren in den USA und über 30 Jahre in Europa eine eigenständige Unternehmensfunktion. Trotzdem befindet sich die Forschung noch in den Kinderschuhen.

In dem Beitrag auf der 67. Jahrestagung der International Communication Association (ICA) wurden die Ergebnisse einer interdisziplinären systematischen Literaturanalyse präsentiert; analysiert wurden englischsprachige peer-reviewed Artikel aus akademischen Journals seit 1990.

 

2016 // Trends in financial communications & reporting

Im Rahmen der internationalen Konferenz "Reporting, Investor Relations, Capital Markets - Challenges and Opportunities in Financial Communication" an der HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management sprachen Prof. Dr. Christian Hoffmann und Dr. Kristin Köhler in Keynotes über die Trends in der Finanzkommunikation sowie im Reporting.

Weitere Informationen zur Veranstaltung finden Sie hier.